
Open Book Test 2002
“The Open Book Test was too easy this year.  Was Mike in a good mood when he wrote
it?”  This is a comment we have received from lots of officials during the year.  Don’t
worry; Mike is working hard on producing a much tougher version for 2003!  The results
from the test were good, but if you were one of the officials who scored very low, or
didn’t return the test at all, your name is in our famous Re-certification file.

Here are the questions again, with the correct answers below.

1.At an ITF Women’s Circuit event, is a player allowed to wear a manufacturer’s
logo of 2 sq. inches/13 sq. cm on her compression shorts in addition to the
logos worn on her skirt or shorts?

•  A. True
•  B. False

The correct answer is A.  You can find the answer on page 37 of the ITF Women’s Circuit
Regulations 2002.

2.During a tie-break, a player requests to see the trainer at the end of the set.
The trainer arrives and begins treating the player after 45 seconds of the set
break have elapsed.  When does the 3 minutes start?

•  A. As soon as the treatment starts
•  B. After 60 seconds of the set break have elapsed
•  C. After 90 seconds of the set break have elapsed
•  D. After 120 seconds of the set break have elapsed

The correct answer is C.  Although the Medical Time-Out starts as soon as the treatment
starts, the Chair Umpire does not start timing the three minutes until he/she would
normally announce “Time” in the set break (i.e. after 90 seconds).  This is covered in
Appendix D of Duties & Procedures for Officials (page 34).

3. At an ITF Women’s Circuit event, a player is wearing a sleeveless dress and
has two commercial logos on the front of her dress.  Is this allowed, and if so,
what is the maximum size of these logos?

•  A. Not allowed
•  B. Allowed – maximum size of 2 sq.in/13 sq.cm
•  C. Allowed – maximum size of 3 sq.in/19.5 sq.cm

The correct answer is C.  If commercial logos are placed on the front of a sleeveless
garment in women’s tennis, the size of the logos is no longer reduced.  This is also
covered on page 37 of the Women’s Circuit regulations.

4. At an ITF Women’s Circuit event, what manufacturer’s logos are allowed on a
dress with sleeves?

•  A. The same logos as allowed on the shirt plus the same logos as allowed
on the skirt/shorts

•  B. The same logos as allowed on the shirt only
The correct answer is A.  A dress is now treated as a combination of a shirt and a skirt
(dividing the dress at the waist) for the purposes of allowed logos.  Page 37 again!

5. If a players hits a ball in anger that hits a ball kid, that player is automatically
defaulted.

•  A. True
•  B. False

The correct answer is B.  For an Immediate Default to be considered the ball must either
be hit deliberately at the ball kid – or the ball must hurt the ball kid.  The fact that a ball
hits a ball kid is not the main consideration.  We need to check whether the ball kid was
hurt or not (assuming that the ball was not deliberately hit at the ball kid).



6. At an ITF Women’s Circuit event, how much time is allowed for a toilet
break?
•  A. 5 minutes (plus the set break time)
•  B. 3 minutes (plus the set break time)
•  C. Reasonable Time

The correct answer is C.  Reasonable Time is now allowed for all toilet breaks in Women’s
professional tennis.

7. At the end of a long point, the player who lost the point tells the Chair Umpire
that the Centre Service Line Umpire made a quiet “fault” call that distracted
him.  The Centre Service Line Umpire confirms that he did this.  What is the
correct decision?

•  A. Replay the point
•  B. Point stands

The correct answer is B.  The key point here is that at the end of the long point, the
player complains that the Centre Service Line Umpire made a call.  If the player was
distracted by that call, he/she should have stopped the point immediately.  The player
can not have two chances to win the point.
Of course, if a player complains that a Line Umpire made a quiet call that distracted him
and he stops immediately, then the Chair Umpire can ask the Line Umpire if he/she made
a call and take the appropriate action (e.g. replay the point).

8. A player arrives on-court and before the pre-match meeting asks the Chair
Umpire if he/she can go to the toilet.  Does this count as one of the player’s
authorised toilet breaks for that match?

•  A. Yes
•  B. No

The correct answer is B.  Toilet breaks taken during the warm-up do count, but they are
not counted before the warm-up has commenced.

9. If a Far Side Line Umpire is unsighted, the Chair Umpire must call the ball in
or out him/herself, even if he/she is very unsure of where the ball landed.

•  A. True
•  B. False

The correct answer is B.  The Chair Umpire is not required to make a call.  If he/she is
sure that the ball was good or out, then the Chair Umpire can make that decision.
However, if the Chair Umpire is not sure, he/she has the option of replaying the point if
the Line Umpire was unsighted.

10. When using the experimental “Super Tie-Break” method of scoring, which of
the following is a point score that would finish the tie-break?

•  A. 7-2
•  B. 8-6
•  C. 9-7
•  D. 12-10

The so-called “Super Tie-Break” which will now be called the “Match Tie-Break (10
points)” is played instead of a final set.  The first player or team to win 10 points, with a
margin of at least 2 points, wins the set.  The correct answer is D.

There are also a couple of other rules issues that we need to bring to your attention:
•  In non-umpired matches, we are having a problem with players forgetting to play a Match Tie-Break (at tournaments

where a Match Tie-Break should be played instead of a final set).  If one point is played in a normal set and then the
mistake is discovered, we can correct the mistake and play a Match Tie-Break counting the one point that was played.
However, if more than one point is played, the situation is more difficult to resolve.  The ITF Rules of Tennis Committee
will be discussing how this error should be corrected.  In the meantime, if more than one point has been played of a
normal set instead of a Match Tie-Break, the correct procedure is to continue but with the winner of the match being the
first player/team to win 3 games.  If the score reaches 2 games all, a Match Tie-Break should then be played.  Under no
circumstances should any points already played be cancelled.

The Procedures for Non-Umpired Matches will be included in Duties & Procedures next year
(2003).  You will notice one change from the previous document.  If a player realises he made an
incorrect “out” call on a hard/grass court when it was not a winning shot, the point is replayed.
However, from now on, the point is only replayed once.  If a player realises he made a mistake on a
second (or subsequent) occasion, he/she would lose the point.


