
OPEN BOOK TEST 2008 
Open Book Test answers 

The results to this year’s Open Book Test were very good!  

Check out your result and see how well you did: 

• If you scored 8, 9 or 10:  A great result, well done!  Either 
you know your rules well, have friends who know the rules 
well or are very lucky when it comes to guessing! 

• If you scored 6 or 7:  You need to do some work on the 
rules, to keep up with all other officials around the world. 

• If you scored 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5:  Did you receive your 
rulebooks?  Did you open them?  Were you guessing?  This 
result is not good.  Either you need more friends in officiating
to discuss the questions with, or (more likely) you need to 
study the rules and procedures!  Make sure you check out 
the answers below and make a much bigger effort for next 
year’s test.  
 

The graphs below show the 
distribution of answers of 

each question (web replies 
only)  

Green: Correct answer  
 
 

Question 1 
At an indoor event the net is held down at each end with a large, 
rectangular weight approximately 50 centimetres (20 inches) in 
length on either side of the net and at each end of the net. During 
the Doubles Match, (Players A & B -v- Players C & D) Player A's 
racket touches the weight on his side of the court after hitting the 
ball but prior to the ball going over the net. What is the correct 
ruling? 

• A. Play continues as the weight is not part of the net   
• B. Play a Let 
• C. Point to Player's C & D - the weight is classed as part of 

the net even though the weights are large    
 
In these situations we would say that the Referee/Supervisor should (depending on the size and 
positioning of the weights) make a decision before the event/match whether they should be 
considered as part of the net or not. The way this situation is described we would probably expect 
the Referee/Supervisor to say that the weights are to big and therefore not part of the net, but since 
there is no information about this in the question we have decided to be generous at the start the 
Open Book Test and therefore accept both A and C as correct answers. 
 

 
Two examples of "oversized" net extensions, which should be ruled as "not part of the net".  

 



Question 2 
In a match where Hawk-Eye Review is used a ball is called good on 
the far sideline. The player is hesitating and then walking close to 
his coach who happens to sit behind that line. After a conversation 
with his coach, he turns around tells the Chair Umpire, who already 
has announced the score, that he wants to challenge the call. What 
do we do? 

• A. Disallow the challenge, telling the player that it is too late.
• B. Allow the challenge, but give a Code Violation for 

Coaching to the player. 
• C. Allow the challenge for this time, but remind the player 

that he has to ask for it immediately and that he should not 
consult with his box about it.  

 
In the Electronic Review Procedures (2008 Duties and Procedures for Officials p.9) it says that the 
request has to be made in a timely manner. In this situation this is not the case.  
The correct answer is A. 
 
Question 3 
In a clay court match a high ball lands close to the far sideline not 
far from the net. The player looks at the mark and decides to hit the
overhead, which she completely misses into the net. The player 
immediately looks at the mark and asks the chair umpire to check 
it. What should the Chair Umpire do?  

• A. Check the mark  
• B. Check the mark this time, but remind the player that she 

is only allowed a reflex return and then needs to stop 
immediately  

• C. Not check the mark, because it was not a reflex return as 
the player clearly had time to stop before hitting the 
overhead  

 
Since we don’t want to have situations where we give a player “two chances to win the point” here 
we are looking for C as the correct answer. This is one of the few situations where we don’t think 
that the player could actually stop after hitting his shot and then ask for a Ball Mark Inspection, 
which normally is the case. 
 
Question 4 
At an ATP event a player is observed by the Chair Umpire speaking 
to his coach. The coach does not respond verbally or by any other 
means. What action should the chair umpire take?  

• A. Tell the player that he cannot speak to the coach. 
• B. Issue a Code Violation for Coaching 
• C. Issue a Code Violation for Unsportsmanlike Conduct. 
• D. Do nothing - as long as the coach is not responding.   

 
The Coaching rule talks about communication between player and “coach”. In this case there is no 
communication, only one side (the player) talking. The correct answer is D. 
 



 
Question 5 
At a WTA event, the manufacturer’s identification that a player can 
have on the front, back or collar of a shirt is:  

• A. Two identifications of 2 sq.inches (13 sq.cm) each or one 
identification of 3 sq.inches (19.5 sq.cm) 

• B. Two identifications of 2 sq.inches (13 sq.cm) each or one 
identification of 4 sq.inches (26 sq.cm) 

• C. Two identifications of 2 sq.inches (13 sq.cm) each on 
shirts with sleeves; three identifications of 2 sq.inches (13 
sq.cm) each on sleeveless shirts 

 
The correct answer is B. For 2008 the WTA aligned its limitation with the ITF / Grand Slam to be 
consistent for the benefit of the players (and officials!). Manufacturer’s identifications permitted on 
sleeves remain different.  
 
Question 6 
At a Women’s Circuit event, at one set all, when the Extreme Heat 
Conditions rule is in effect, players are entitled to a 10 min break 
before starting the final set. A player comes back on-court after 11 
minutes, what should the Chair Umpire do? 

• A. Once the 10 min are elapsed, call for the Supervisor and 
wait for his/her decision for a possible default 

• B. Inform the Supervisor before the ten minutes are over; 
issue a Time Violation Warning and a Time Violation Point 
Penalty to the player, announce both these violations to the 
public; inform the player of the penalties when she is back 
on-court and announce the score  

• C. Inform the Supervisor before the ten minutes are over; 
issue a Time Violation Warning and then a Code Violation 
Warning to the player, announce both these violations to the 
public; inform the player of the penalties when she is back 
on-court 

• D. Don’t involve the Supervisor and send another line 
umpire to look for the player 

 
The correct answer is B. This is the only case when Time Violations are given back to back. In that 
case the Chair Umpire would call time at 10 min and then issue a Time Violation “Warning” after 30 
sec. (at 10min30sec) and finally another Time Violation “Point Penalty” 20 sec later (at 10min 
50sec).  
 
Question 7 
At a Women’s Circuit event, when the Extreme Heats Conditions 
rule is in effect, players are entitled to a 10 min break at one set all 
in a Doubles match. 

• A.  True   
• B.  False   

 

Since the Doubles match format has been changed to replace the final set by a 10-point match tie-
break then the 10 min break is no longer in effect for Doubles. The correct answer is B.  
 



 
Question 8 
In a Grand Slam mixed doubles match using No Ad scoring. On the 
deciding point the male must serve to the male and female-to-
female.  

• A.  True  
• B.  False  

 
Rules of Tennis 2008, Appendix IV. The correct answer is A.
 
Question 9 
At the US Open during a Medical Time Out, the opponent of the 
injured player takes a book out of his/her bag and starts to read it. 
The Chair Umpire cannot see what is written, what should the Chair 
Umpire do?  

• A. Ask the player what is written in the book and if there is 
advice on how to play assess a Code Violation for Coaching 

• B. Give the player a Code Violation for Unsportsmanlike 
Conduct  

• C. Tell the player he/she cannot read the book  
• D. Nothing   

 
In this situation the Chair Umpire should do nothing (D). If the book or some other notes would 
be handed over to the player during the match, this could possibly be a Code Violation. 
 
Question 10 
At a Women's Circuit tournament, what is the format for the 
Doubles Qualifying matches?  

• A. An 8 games Pro-set. 
• B. Best of three Short sets. 
• C. Two Tie-break sets with No Ad-scoring and a deciding 10-

point Match Tie-break.   
• D. Best of three Tie-break sets. 

 
For 2008 the format for all doubles matches (including Qualifying) has been changed (Women’s 
Circuit Rulebook 2008 p.45). The correct answer is C. 
  
 
 


